Muldrow named finalist for Cheryl Miller Award

Winner will be announced March 30 at Women's Final Four

MORGANTOWN - Teana Muldrow is one of five finalists for an award given to college basketball’s top small forward.

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced the finalists for the 2018 Cheryl Miller Award Wednesday. This is the first year that the award, named after the three-time Naismith Player of the Year, will recognize the best small forward in women’s Division I basketball.

The winner of the Cheryl Miller Award will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame's selection committee. Mountaineer fans can vote for Muldrow by visiting from March 2-23.

The winner will be announced during ESPN2's telecast of the national semifinal games in the 2018 NCAA Women's Final Four in Columbus, Ohio March 30.

Muldrow averaged 19.6 points per game during the regular season, which leads the Mountaineers and is third in the Big 12. She also collected a team-best 8.9 rebounds per game, which lands her among the top five in that category in the conference.

The senior has tallied 13 double-doubles this season, bringing her career total to 23.

The other four finalists are Gabby Williams (Connecticut), Shakayla Thomas (Florida State), Sophie Cunningham (Missouri) and Jaime Nared (Tennessee).

Latest WVU Sports

Video Center

Don't Miss