From the Cheap Seats: It's Time for Opinions to be Formed - WVU Football, WVU Basketball, News - Mountaineer Sports

From the Cheap Seats: It's Time for Opinions to be Formed

Posted: Updated:

With less than perfect performances in the first two games, there's a lot of debate out there about the 2011 edition of the Mountaineers.   This week, I was talking with a friend and fellow WVU fan/grad about the young football season and something he said put things in perspective for me.   "I thought I'd have an opinion on the coaching change and new offense by now, but I don't," he said.  That simple statement put my feelings into words.  A lot of people have told me to make sure that I include lots of opinion in these pieces.  Well, this week, my opinion is that I don't have one.            

Coming into the season, I thought we'd either put up huge point totals and run Marshall, and certainly Norfolk State, out of the stadium, or we'd implode and possibly lose to the Herd.  Well, neither one of those things happened.   

With all the weather distractions, the fact that it was a "rivalry" game and the first game in a new offensive system, you pretty much have to throw the Coal Bowl out.  Against Norfolk State, we went the implosion route in the first half, but changed course to the run-them-out-of-the-stadium theme.  Also remember that for the two teams that we've played, it was their Super Bowls.  No matter if it's been under Nehlen, Rodriguez, Stewart or now Holgorsen, our Mountaineers have often had a hard time matching the intensity of the under dog. 

With those things in mind, it's hard to form an opinion.  At times, things like the passing game have looked great, while the running game has been nearly nonexistent.  The defense has given up some big plays, but no touchdowns.  Everything seems to cancel itself out.

Something has to give and it will this weekend at Maryland.  It is somewhat of a rivalry, it's a homecoming for a number of Mountaineers, and then there's the Terrapins' 32 possible uniform combinations, each one more obnoxious than the next.  So yes, there are some distractions, but the teams are pretty evenly-matched and players on both sides realize that too little focus and too many mistakes will lead to the other team quickly running away with the game.

Here's to hoping that the team doing the running away is WVU and that I'm able to have an opinion next week.  I'm headed out of the land where Mountaineers are always free to the Free State, ready to form one.

  • More SportsMore>>

  • Buchanan Nominated for ESPY Award

    Buchanan Nominated for ESPY Award

    Wednesday, June 21 2017 6:33 PM EDT2017-06-21 22:33:24 GMT
    WVU defender Kadeisha Buchanan waves to the fans following an NCAA Tournament win in Morgantown. (PHOTO: Geoff Coyle)WVU defender Kadeisha Buchanan waves to the fans following an NCAA Tournament win in Morgantown. (PHOTO: Geoff Coyle)

    For the first time in program history, the West Virginia University women’s soccer team will be represented at The ESPYs.

    For the first time in program history, the West Virginia University women’s soccer team will be represented at The ESPYs.

  • Cramer Drafted by Nationals

    Cramer Drafted by Nationals

    Wednesday, June 14 2017 6:32 PM EDT2017-06-14 22:32:42 GMT
    WVU senior Jackson Cramer hugs his head coach, Randy Mazey, after playing the final game of his collegiate career at the NCAA Regional. (PHOTO: Geoff Coyle)WVU senior Jackson Cramer hugs his head coach, Randy Mazey, after playing the final game of his collegiate career at the NCAA Regional. (PHOTO: Geoff Coyle)

    With the No. 1063 overall pick in the 35th round of the MLB Draft, Jackson Cramer was selected by the Washington Nationals.

    In the 35th round of the MLB Draft Jackson Cramer was selected with the No. 1063 overall pick by the Washington Nationals.

  • Davis Selected in MLB Draft

    Davis Selected in MLB Draft

    Wednesday, June 14 2017 5:09 PM EDT2017-06-14 21:09:42 GMT
    Kyle Davis waits for his turn to enter the batter's box during an 8-5 win over Maryland. (PHOTO Geoff Coyle)Kyle Davis waits for his turn to enter the batter's box during an 8-5 win over Maryland. (PHOTO Geoff Coyle)

    Outfielder Kyle Davis was selected with the No. 451 overall pick in the 15th round of the year's MLB Draft by the Houston Astros.

    Outfielder Kyle Davis was selected with the No. 451 overall pick in the 15th round of the year's MLB Draft by the Houston Astros.

  • FootballFootballMore>>

  • Simmons, Haskins To Join Mountaineers

    Simmons, Haskins To Join Mountaineers

    Sunday, June 25 2017 6:05 PM EDT2017-06-25 22:05:21 GMT
    WVU football coach Dana Holgorsen. (PHOTO: Geoff Coyle)WVU football coach Dana Holgorsen. (PHOTO: Geoff Coyle)

    The West Virginia University football team added a few roster additions over the weekend.

    The West Virginia University football team added a few roster additions over the weekend.

  • WATCH: WVU Football Video Interviews

    WATCH: WVU Football Video Interviews

    Watch full video interviews with West Virginia Football Coaches and Players as they met with the media today regarding summer preparation for the upcoming season.

    Watch full video interviews with West Virginia Football Coaches and Players as they met with the media today regarding summer preparation for the upcoming season.

  • Officially eligible, Will Grier "can't wait for Virginia Tech"

    Officially eligible, Will Grier "can't wait for Virginia Tech"

    Will Grier prepares for his WVU debut against Virginia Tech on Sept. 3. (PHOTO: Geoff Coyle)Will Grier prepares for his WVU debut against Virginia Tech on Sept. 3. (PHOTO: Geoff Coyle)

    Mountaineer quarterback prepares to handle the hype in his return to the field after missing more than a year of football. 

    Mountaineer quarterback prepares to handle the hype in his return to the field after missing more than a year of football. 

  • Most Popular StoriesMost Popular StoriesMore>>

  • WVU Men’s Basketball Non-Conference Schedule Released

    WVU Men’s Basketball Non-Conference Schedule Released

    Monday, June 26 2017 3:04 PM EDT2017-06-26 19:04:37 GMT
    Bob Huggins looks on as the Mountaineers practice at the SAP Center in San Jose. (PHOTO: Geoff Coyle)Bob Huggins looks on as the Mountaineers practice at the SAP Center in San Jose. (PHOTO: Geoff Coyle)

    The 2017-18 men’s basketball non-conference schedule was released on Monday afternoon.

    The 2017-18 men’s basketball non-conference schedule was released on Monday afternoon.

  • Update: 2 People, Including DOH Worker, Killed in I-79 Crash, Roadway Reopens

    Update: 2 People, Including DOH Worker, Killed in I-79 Crash, Roadway Reopens

    Tuesday, June 27 2017 8:40 PM EDT2017-06-28 00:40:05 GMT

    At this time, dispatchers say that two people have been killed, and two others were injured.

    At this time, dispatchers say that two people have been killed, and two others were injured.

  • Simmons, Haskins To Join Mountaineers

    Simmons, Haskins To Join Mountaineers

    Sunday, June 25 2017 6:05 PM EDT2017-06-25 22:05:21 GMT
    WVU football coach Dana Holgorsen. (PHOTO: Geoff Coyle)WVU football coach Dana Holgorsen. (PHOTO: Geoff Coyle)

    The West Virginia University football team added a few roster additions over the weekend.

    The West Virginia University football team added a few roster additions over the weekend.

  • WVi Has Moved!

    WVi Has Moved!

    Friday, September 2 2011 1:45 PM EDT2011-09-02 17:45:05 GMT
    Don't worry, wvillustrated.com is still alive and well. WVi has upgraded to a brand new and improved website. Please check out http://www.wvillustrated.com/ We hope you enjoy the new WVi experience.
  • Wayne suspect arrested for credit card fraud

    Wayne suspect arrested for credit card fraud

    Tuesday, June 27 2017 1:33 PM EDT2017-06-27 17:33:27 GMT

    WAYNE, WV - Police with the Wayne County Sheriff's Office arrested a man on Friday, June 23rd, 2017, in connection to reports of stolen credit cards and other personal items. According to a criminal complaint, deputies arrested Corey Lee Harless, 39, of Wayne, after matching his vehicle to the description of one seen at a crime committed in the Lavalette area earlier in the week. Harless was found at a gas station in Wayne after attempting to use two credit cards that belonged to a ...

    WAYNE, WV - Police with the Wayne County Sheriff's Office arrested a man on Friday, June 23rd, 2017, in connection to reports of stolen credit cards and other personal items. According to a criminal complaint, deputies arrested Corey Lee Harless, 39, of Wayne, after matching his vehicle to the description of one seen at a crime committed in the Lavalette area earlier in the week. Harless was found at a gas station in Wayne after attempting to use two credit cards that belonged to a ...

  • Officially eligible, Will Grier "can't wait for Virginia Tech"

    Officially eligible, Will Grier "can't wait for Virginia Tech"

    Will Grier prepares for his WVU debut against Virginia Tech on Sept. 3. (PHOTO: Geoff Coyle)Will Grier prepares for his WVU debut against Virginia Tech on Sept. 3. (PHOTO: Geoff Coyle)

    Mountaineer quarterback prepares to handle the hype in his return to the field after missing more than a year of football. 

    Mountaineer quarterback prepares to handle the hype in his return to the field after missing more than a year of football. 

  • WATCH: WVU Football Video Interviews

    WATCH: WVU Football Video Interviews

    Watch full video interviews with West Virginia Football Coaches and Players as they met with the media today regarding summer preparation for the upcoming season.

    Watch full video interviews with West Virginia Football Coaches and Players as they met with the media today regarding summer preparation for the upcoming season.

  • Vehicle Strikes Pole in Eastern Kanawha County

    Vehicle Strikes Pole in Eastern Kanawha County

    Tuesday, June 27 2017 8:31 PM EDT2017-06-28 00:31:45 GMT

    CLENDENIN, WV (WOWK) - One person has been injured after a vehicle struck a pole in eastern Kanawha County. The single vehicle accident occurred around 7:45 p.m. on the 500 block of Spencer Road just outside of Clendenin Tuesday evening. One person was transported to the hospital. It is not known what caused the accident at this time. We will provide more information on this story as soon as we receive it.

    CLENDENIN, WV (WOWK) - One person has been injured after a vehicle struck a pole in eastern Kanawha County. The single vehicle accident occurred around 7:45 p.m. on the 500 block of Spencer Road just outside of Clendenin Tuesday evening. One person was transported to the hospital. It is not known what caused the accident at this time. We will provide more information on this story as soon as we receive it.