WVU Football

WVU announces Iron Mountaineer awardees

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – West Virginia football players Gary Jennings Jr., Colton McKivitz, David Sills V and Dylan Tonkery were named the recipients of the 2018 Iron Mountaineer Award, presented to the most outstanding performers in WVU’s offseason strength and conditioning program.

Since 1996, 59 players have been tabbed with Iron Mountaineer distinction, including 12 who have earned the award more than once. Jennings Jr. and Sills V are senior receivers, McKivitz is a redshirt junior offensive lineman and Tonkery is a redshirt sophomore linebacker.

The winners are the best in the testing at the conclusion of winter conditioning, measuring the broad jump, vertical jump, bench, squat, power clean lift, 225 bench, 40-yard sprint, pro shuttle, three cone, 60-yard shuttle and the 10/20-yard sprint. The winners are selected from three groups: FB/TE/LB/SP, QB/RB/WR/DB and OL/DL. The top performers in each category are selected by their teammates, earning the Iron Mountaineer Award.

The distinctive award is a 6.2-lb coal statue made entirely of native West Virginian natural resources: coal, wood and natural wood stain. One permanent Iron Mountaineer with the names of all winners is on display in the WVU strength and conditioning complex.

Past winners include 2016 – David Long Jr., Jon Lewis and Elijah Wellman; 2015 – Jared Barber, Karl Joseph, Tyler Orlosky; 2014 – Cody Clay, Mark Glowinski, Daryl Worley; 2013 – Connor Arlia, Isaiah Bruce, Will Clarke; 2012 – Jeff Braun, Will Clarke, Ryan Nehlen, Taige Redman; 2011 – Will Clarke, Najee Goode, Keith Tandy; 2010 – Matt Lindamood, Chris Neild, Noel Devine, Don Barclay, Keith Tandy; 2009 – Noel Devine, Chris Neild, Nate Sowers, J.T. Thomas, Reed Williams; 2008 – Zac Cooper, J.T. Thomas, Sowers; 2007 – Keilen Dykes, Ovid Goulbourne, Darius Reynaud; 2006 – Pat Liebig, Marc Magro, Steve Slaton; 2005 – Craig Wilson, Owen Schmitt, Jason Colson; 2004 – Craig Wilson, Scott Gyorko, Mike Lorello; 2003 – Quincy Wilson, Pat Liebig; 2002 – Rasheed Marshall, Lance Nimmo; 2001 – David Upchurch, Shawn Hackett; 2000 – Avon Cobourne, Khori Ivy, Chris Edmonds, Antwan Lake; 1999 – Greg Robinette, Barrett Green, Boo Sensabaugh, Khori Ivy; 1998 – Tanner Russell, Boo Sensabaugh, Eric de Groh, Shawn Foreman;1997 – Curtis Keaton, Steve Lippe; 1996 – Bernardo Amerson, Charles Emanuel.

Latest WVU Sports

Video Center

Don't Miss