Bob Huggins Earns Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year


West Virginia University men’s basketball head coach Bob Huggins was recognized with the 2015 Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year award on Friday evening in Indianapolis. The award is annually given to the best Division-I men’s college basketball coach in America.

Huggins led the Mountaineers to 25 wins on the season and a Sweet 16 appearance this season. He ranks 12th all-time in Division-I victories with a total of 765 in 33 years as a head coach. Friday’s award was the sixth time Huggins has been named national coach of the year.

Other finalists included:

Dana Altman (Oregon)

Tony Bennett (Virginia)

Mike Brey (Notre Dame)

John Calipari (Kentucky)

Jim Engles (NJIT)

Mark Few (Gonzaga)

Chris Holtmann (Butler)

Larry Krystkowiak (Utah)

Gregg Marshall (Wichita State)

Bob McKillop (Davidson)

Archie Miller (Dayton)

Sean Miller (Arizona)

Bo Ryan (Wisconsin)

Mark Turgeon (Maryland)

Jay Wright (Villanova)

The award is named in the honor of former Mount Saint Mary’s head coach Jim Phelan, serving as the Mountaineers coach for the entirety of his career. Phelan retired with 830 wins all-time in 49 years of coaching. He retired in 2003.

Below are past Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year winners:

2015: Bob Huggins (West Virginia)

2014: Tim Miles (Nebraska)

2013: Dana Altman (Oregon)

2012: Mike Brey (Notre Dame)

2011: Stew Morrill (Utah State)

2010: Jamie Dixon (Pittsburgh)

2009: John Calipari (Memphis)

2008: Bo Ryan (Wisconsin)

2007: Tony Bennett (Washington)

2006: Ben Howland (UCLA)

2005: Tubby Smith (Kentucky)

2004: Phil Martelli (Saint Joseph’s)

2003: Mark Slownaker (Mercer)

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Catch up on your favorite shows!

More WVU Coaches Show

Check us out on Twitter!