Tshiebwe named to USBWA All-District Team

WVU Men's Basketball

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association released its 2019-2020 Men’s All-District Teams, and one Mountaineer was honored with a nod to the District II team.

Oscar Tshiebwe was one of 10 players from nine schools to be named to the District II squad, which includes New York, New Jersey, Delaware, Pennsylvania, West Virginia and the District of Columbia. In his freshman year, Tshiebwe has racked up an average of 11.2 points and 9.3 rebounds, leading WVU in both categories.

Alongside Tshiebwe, nine other players were recognized: Saddiq Bey and Collin Gillespie (both Villanova), AJ Brodeur (Penn), Desure Buie (Hofstra), Nate Darling (Delaware), Elijah Hughes (Syracuse), Jalen Pickett (Siena), Myles Powell (Seton Hall) and Lamar Stevens (Penn State).

Powell was named the district Player of the Year, while his coach Kevin Willard was named Coach of the Year.

The USBWA’s Men’s All-America team will be released on March 16, along with the finalists for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, which honors the National Player of the Year, the Wayman Tisdale Award, which honors the National Freshman of the Year, and the Henry Iba Award, which honors the National Coach of the Year.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Watch the latest from WVi

Roster Breakdown: Tight Ends

Interactive Roster Breakdown: Cornerbacks

Interactive Roster Breakdown: Running Backs

Interactive Roster Breakdown: Quarterbacks

Interactive Roster Breakdown: Wide Receivers

Interactive Roster Breakdown: Defensive Line

More Top Stories

More on WVU hoops

More WVU Basketball

Catch up on your favorite shows!

More WVU Coaches Show

Check us out on Twitter!