WVU Football

Long, Cajuste earn Big 12 Player of the Year honors

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. - The All-Big 12 Conference football teams and individual honors were announced on Wednesday.

Redshirt junior linebacker David Long Jr. becomes the first Mountaineer to be named Defensive Player of the Year while Redshirt senior Yodny Cajuste was one of three players tabbed Offensive Linemen of the Year.

Cajuste and Long also earned a spot on the All-Big 12 first team along with senior WR David Sills, senior TE Trevon Wesco and DB Kenny Robinson.

Senior QB Will Grier, sophomore OL Josh Sills and senior DL Kenny Bigelow were named to the All-Big 12 second team.

Nine Mountaineers, including Coach Holgorsen received All-Big 12 Honorable Mention: Kenny Bigelow Jr. (DNoY),Will Grier (OPoY), Dravon Askew-Henry (DB), Dana Holgorsen (CoY), Gary Jennings Jr. (WR), Colton McKivitz (OL), Josh Norwood (DB & DNoY), Evan Staley (PK), Keith Washington (DB).


Offensive Player of the Year – QB Kyler Murray (OU)
Defensive Player of the Year – LB David Long Jr. (WVU)
Offensive Newcomer Player of the Year – WR Jalen Hurd (BU)
Offensive Newcomer Player of the Year – DB Greg Eisworth (ISU)
Offensive Freshman of the Year – RB Pooka Williams Jr. (KU)
Defensive Freshman of the Year – DB Caden Sterns (Texas)
Special Teams Player of the Year – K/P Austin Seibert (OU)
Offensive Linemen of the Year – Dalton Risner (KSU), Dru Samia (OU), Yodny Cajuste (WVU)
Defensive Linemen of the Year – Charles Omenihu (Texas)
Chuck Neinas Coaches of the Year - Matt Campbell (ISU), Lincoln Riley (OU)

Click to her to view the Complete 2018 All-Big 12 Awards.

Latest WVU Sports

Video Center

Don't Miss