Mountaineer legend Steve Slaton to be inducted into Sugar Bowl Hall of Fame

WVU Football

Former WVU All-American Steve Slaton will be inducted to the All State Sugar Bowl Hall of Fame along with six other college football legends, the All State Sugar Bowl announced on Tuesday.

Slaton left his mark on the 2006 Sugar Bowl when he rushed for 206 yards (a Sugar Bowl record) and 3 touchdowns on 26 carries, capping off an already record-breaking 1,744-yard, 26-touchdown season for the Mountaineers. West Virginia would go on to win the bowl over Georgia, 38-35, in the Georgia Dome.

He will be honored along with Florida State’s Warrick Dunn, Arkansas’s Bill Montgomery, Oklahoma’s Tinker Owens, Baylor’s Del Shofner, Georgia’s Charley Tripp and Ole Miss’s Johnny Vaught.

“For 86 years, the Sugar Bowl has built a legacy of excellence,” said Monique Morial, the President of the Sugar Bowl Committee. “Two years ago, the Sugar Bowl Committee created a Hall of Fame to recognize the legends that built our wonderful history. We are honored to have the opportunity to add seven more all-time greats to the Hall of Fame this year. These men all played significant roles in lifting the Bowl to its current level of national prominence, and we look forward to honoring them in New Orleans over the New Year’s holiday.”

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Watch the latest from WVi

Roster Breakdown: Tight Ends

Interactive Roster Breakdown: Cornerbacks

Interactive Roster Breakdown: Running Backs

Interactive Roster Breakdown: Quarterbacks

Interactive Roster Breakdown: Wide Receivers

Interactive Roster Breakdown: Defensive Line

More Top Stories

More on WVU football

More WVU Football

Catch up on your favorite shows!

More WVU Coaches Show

Check us out on Twitter!